Wayde included in SA Prelim Squad for World Championships

Despite having not competed in any major international event since 2017, it was announced that Wayde van Niekerk has been included in SA’s preliminary squad for the world championships in September.

Athletics South Africa made the announcement on Monday, stating that Wayde had been listed for the 400m and 4x400m relay.

The decision to include him however is not final.

The Athletics SA board would still need to approve of his inclusion and this approval would presumably depend on his performance going forward.

Although he had competed in a few minor local races, his first major international race (since succumbing to a knee injury in 2017) will take place next month.

He is set to race in the IAAF’s 400m at the Müller Anniversary Games in the London Stadium on the 20th to 21st of July.

Also set to race is Caster Semenya, who was banned from racing after a controversial ruling by the IAAF.

The ruling, which questioned her gender, has been widely condemned and has been suspended by the Swiss Federal Supreme Court.

The rest of the preliminary team is listed below.

Preliminary SA Team

Men: Akani Simbine (100m/200m/4x100m), Simon Magakwe (100m/4x100m), Thapelo Phora (400m/4x400m), Tshepo Tshite (800m), Stephen Mokoka (marathon), Desmond Mokgobu (marathon), Benedict Moeng (marathon), David Manja (marathon), Antonia Alkana (110m hurdles), Ruan de Vries (110m hurdles), Lindsey Hanekom (400m hurdles), Wayne Snyman (20km race walking), Marc Mundell (50km race walking), Luvo Manyonga (long jump), Ruswahl Samaai (long jump), Orazio Cremona (shot put).

Women: Caster Semenya (800m), Zeney van der Walt (400m hurdles), Dominique Scott (10 000m).


4x100m men: Thando Dlodlo, Akani Simbine, Emile Erasmus, Chederick van Wyk, Sinesipho Dambile, Anaso Jobodwana.

4x400m men: Gardeo Isaacs, Ranti Dikgale, Thapelo Phora, Ashley Hlungwani, Sokwakhana Zazini, Pieter Conradie, Jon Seeliger.

Subject to board approval

Clarence Munyai (200m/4x100m), Wayde van Niekerk (400m/4x400m), Derick Mokaleng (400m/4x400m), Lebogang Shange (20km race walking), Henricho Bruintjies (100m/4x100m), Phil-Mar Janse van Rensburg (javelin), Rikenette Steenkamp (100m hurdles), Justine Palframan (200m), Carina Horn (100m).

Source(s):  www.IOL.co.za


Be the first to comment on "Wayde included in SA Prelim Squad for World Championships"

Leave a comment

Social media & sharing icons powered by UltimatelySocial